Protocol For America’s Cup 2021

The drawing of protocol for America’s Cup 2021 is on the verge of completion.

This year it was the Emirates team of New Zealand who have brought back the America’s Cup to their country, main accomplishments of Grant Dalton and Peter Burling. The syndicate is now working on certain traditions that are characteristic of this event.

Grant Dalton being the boss of Team New Zealand states that the drawing up of the protocol is more or less finished and it would be delivered soon. The plans that are being worked upon are for the defense line of action that they will undertake in Auckland where they will face Luna Rossa, the Italian challenger of their team. The responsibilities that lie with the winning team are also looking into fundraising campaigns. The team would be looking at fundraising options after they won the America’s Cup this year with their stunning performance in June in the Bermuda region. They were able to defeat the defenders of the cup, Oracle Team USA with a score of 7 to 1. There are European challengers with whom Dalton has touched base so that a two pronged plan can be worked out for the upcoming America’s Cup.Continue reading

Round The Island Race Scheduled For July 1

The Island Sailing Club is gearing up to host the Round the Island Race for the year 2017. This is a one-day race event has been going on since 1931.

The race is organized in association with Cloudy Bay. This is one of the most looked forward to event by all professional sailors as well as newbies to the sailing sport. The best part about this race is that people from all walks of life are encouraged to take part and they get the chance to race using any boat, be it a maxi yacht, a boat or a cruiser.

This is a boat race for all and there are more than 16,000 sailors and over 1,600 boats that they part in this one-day sailing event. This makes the event one of the largest yacht races in the world. This year it is expected to be even bigger than last year and many are expecting new race records to be set. Last year was a record-setting year when Lloyd completed the race course in 2 hours and 23 minutes in the multihull division.Continue reading

New Framework Of America’s Cup

Many are aware of the new framework of America’s Cup that was designed this year. The eight skippers who are to be part of the competition this year were asked to take a look at the existing terms of the old framework and bring about revisions in the same. The future of the event is tied to the terms that are laid down in the framework. The changes have been introduced in order to bring in a sense of continuity as well as stability in this reputed international regatta event which is considered one of the oldest trophy events in sailing.

The America’s Cup event authorities who oversee the events feel that the revisions made have brought in a hallmark change for the regatta series. This has come about after a span of 165 years. The teams coming together to bring about the changes also showcases an involvement of the skippers much beyond momentary participation in the events. Continue reading

Status Of Vendee Globe Competition

For those who have been following the Vendee Globe competition will now be relieved to hear news of most of the skippers making their way to the final stop and ending an epic voyage around the world as a solo skipper of their boat.

One of the latest members of the current tournament to finish the trip was Louis Burton. He made good speed after the maneuvering of Cape Horn and the safe and uneventful passage across the transatlantic waters. He has finally reached the finishing line at the seventh position overall. The others who are coming up behind him are Arnaud Boissieres who has crossed the Equator on February 1st, with six skippers on their way in South Atlantic waters.

The race has concluded 88 days and its hierarchy remains as it was established long back through several challenges come up for the participants, new and unique every time as they go through this epic round the world tour. Continue reading

Team NZ In America’s Cup

While most of the world was focused on Team Britain in America’s Cup World series the Team NZ was not far behind. The final lap of the nine regatta series ended in Japan on Sunday. The weekend races started off with practice rounds on Friday.

On Saturday the six teams took to the waters with Britain’s Land Rover BAR team being in the leading position. As the leader board scores showcased, Team NZ was in third place and their position remained the same when the first day of the races ended. The team was skippered by the expert sailor Glenn Ashby. The team finished in the second position in the first race while they obtained fifth position in the second race and was third in the final race. As a result, they accumulated a total of 23 points.Continue reading

Youth Match Racing In Australia

Youth Match Racing Championship 2016 HARKEN International started in Australia amid the clear and sunny sky.

The steady wind breezes of Pittwater welcomed twelve international teams to start the event and make it a big success.

The wind condition of Pittwater which was a matter of concern to newcomers in event showed normal condition. The wind was blowing from east to northeast direction throughout the day making it participants to show their skills and game. The wind of Pittwater is shifty in nature and no one can judge what could be the next.

Matthew Hughes skipper is a newcomer in the event and he shined on the first day with six wins out of seven races. He is from Squadron Royal New Zealand Yacht. On the other hand Malcolm Parker the local sailor of Pittwater runs six races in which he won five. He lost one match from Squadron Royal. He used all his local experience to win matches in the event.  Continue reading

Sailor Of The Year Awards Nominations Open

One of the most prestigious and looked forward to award by all the sailors is the Rolex World Sailor of the Year awards. This is the main award that is driving more and more sailors to put up their best in every race that they take part. This prestigious sailing award is accepting nominations for the 2016 presentation.


The World Sailor of the Year awards started in 1994 and there have been many sailing greats who have laid their hands on this popular award. The award winners are those who have shown exemplary performance, unparalleled achievements and top class endurance in the sailing world. Sir Robin Knox Johnston and Sir Peter Blake, the legends of sailing, are the first winners of the World Sailors of the Year award.

Last year’s winner of the World Sailors of the Year award was the Rio Olympics gold medalist Blair Tuke and Peter Burling from New Zealand. They won it for their sheer dominance and great determination to excel in the 49ers. The female world sailor of the year 2015 was awarded to the popular and crowd favorite Sarah Ayton from Great Britain.

The nominations for the best sailors for the year can be made by anyone. The main criterion is that the nominations should have made an outstanding achievement in the sailing sport between 1st September 2015 and 18th September 2016. The nominations are received by the World sailing till September 18, 2016 19:00 UTC. It will come up with a short list of the nominations who are the top achievers in the sport to become the official nominees of the 2016 Rolex World Sailor of the Year.

The winners of the male and the female World Sailors of the Year award will be made on 8th November 2016 in Barcelona, Spain as this is where the 2016 World Sailing Conference is being held.