New Framework Of America’s Cup

Many are aware of the new framework of America’s Cup that was designed this year. The eight skippers who are to be part of the competition this year were asked to take a look at the existing terms of the old framework and bring about revisions in the same. The future of the event is tied to the terms that are laid down in the framework. The changes have been introduced in order to bring in a sense of continuity as well as stability in this reputed international regatta event which is considered one of the oldest trophy events in sailing.

The America’s Cup event authorities who oversee the events feel that the revisions made have brought in a hallmark change for the regatta series. This has come about after a span of 165 years. The teams coming together to bring about the changes also showcases an involvement of the skippers much beyond momentary participation in the events. Continue reading

Team NZ In America’s Cup

While most of the world was focused on Team Britain in America’s Cup World series the Team NZ was not far behind. The final lap of the nine regatta series ended in Japan on Sunday. The weekend races started off with practice rounds on Friday.

On Saturday the six teams took to the waters with Britain’s Land Rover BAR team being in the leading position. As the leader board scores showcased, Team NZ was in third place and their position remained the same when the first day of the races ended. The team was skippered by the expert sailor Glenn Ashby. The team finished in the second position in the first race while they obtained fifth position in the second race and was third in the final race. As a result, they accumulated a total of 23 points.Continue reading

Sailor Of The Year Awards Nominations Open

One of the most prestigious and looked forward to award by all the sailors is the Rolex World Sailor of the Year awards. This is the main award that is driving more and more sailors to put up their best in every race that they take part. This prestigious sailing award is accepting nominations for the 2016 presentation.


The World Sailor of the Year awards started in 1994 and there have been many sailing greats who have laid their hands on this popular award. The award winners are those who have shown exemplary performance, unparalleled achievements and top class endurance in the sailing world. Sir Robin Knox Johnston and Sir Peter Blake, the legends of sailing, are the first winners of the World Sailors of the Year award.

Last year’s winner of the World Sailors of the Year award was the Rio Olympics gold medalist Blair Tuke and Peter Burling from New Zealand. They won it for their sheer dominance and great determination to excel in the 49ers. The female world sailor of the year 2015 was awarded to the popular and crowd favorite Sarah Ayton from Great Britain.

The nominations for the best sailors for the year can be made by anyone. The main criterion is that the nominations should have made an outstanding achievement in the sailing sport between 1st September 2015 and 18th September 2016. The nominations are received by the World sailing till September 18, 2016 19:00 UTC. It will come up with a short list of the nominations who are the top achievers in the sport to become the official nominees of the 2016 Rolex World Sailor of the Year.

The winners of the male and the female World Sailors of the Year award will be made on 8th November 2016 in Barcelona, Spain as this is where the 2016 World Sailing Conference is being held.